Public announcement by the NLWKN

Construction and operation of a Floating Storage and Regasification Unit (FSRU) Permit in accordance with water management legislation for extracting river water from the Elbe and discharging wastewater and unaltered river water from the FSRU into the Elbe

In response to the war in Ukraine and Germany’s dependence on Russian natural gas supplies, it is planned to rapidly construct facilities for landing, regasifying and injecting liquefied natural gas (LNG), including the associated pipeline and port infrastructure.

Hanseatic Energy Hub GmbH (HEH) is planning to construct and operate a Floating Storage and Regasification Unit (FSRU) for storing and regasifying liquefied natural gas (LNG) at the site in Stade, Bützfleth.

The operation of this stationary floating facility for storing and regasifying LNG is subject to a permit procedure in accordance with water management legislation, pursuant to sections 8 and 9 para. 1 nos. 1 and 4 and sections 10, 12 and 57 of the Federal Water Act (WHG) in conjunction with Section 2 of the Ordinance for Regulating the Procedure for Approving and Monitoring Industrial Wastewater Treatment Plants and Water Uses (Industrial Sewage Treatment Plant Approval and Monitoring Ordinance - IZÜV) as well as sections 5, 7 and 10 of the Act to Accelerate the Use of Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG Acceleration Act - LNGG).

The permit procedure applied for shall be carried out with public consultation, whereby the public viewing and objection periods shall each be shortened to one week pursuant to Section 5 para. 3 in conjunction with para. 1 nos. 1 and 2 LNGG.

The application and the documents submitted by the applicant can be viewed at the NLWKN in Stade, the Hanseatic City of Stade and the Amt Geest und Marsch Südholstein from 30th August 2023 to 5th September 2023. The public may raise objections to the application up to and including 12 September2023 by submitting them in writing to one of the above viewing offices or by email to


Source: Lower Saxony State Agency for Water Management, Coastal and Nature Conservation (NLWKN) /